Logo
Architekturrat der Schweiz
Conseil suisse de l'architecture
Consiglio svizzero dell'architettura
Architectural Council of Switzerland
Cussegl svizzer d'architectura
Contact
Office
E heike.biechteler@architekturrat.ch
T +41 77 411 00 59

Architectural Council of Switzerland

The Architectural Council was founded in 2008 as a discussion platform for the Schools of Architecture in Switzerland. It unites all universities and universities of applied science of Switzerland teaching architecture together with the Swiss Association of Engineers and Architects (SIA), the corresponding professional association, on one common platform. In particular, SIA also functions as a representative for the interests of other societies and associations.

The Architectural Council has the objectives of harmonizing architectural education in Switzerland, promoting research and as a united front, sensitizing public policy makers for architecture as a discipline.

The members of the Architectural Council represent their respective Schools of Architecture and are responsible for providing feedback and necessary discussion points within their institution.

The President and the Vice President represent the interests of the Architectural Council, based on a common agenda, both internally and externally.

Education

The Architectural Council is committed to the dual education system with two different and proven paths to the profession of architect: The first path leads a student through high school and university, the other usually involves an apprenticeship as a draughtsman, the (Swiss) Federal Vocational Baccalaureate and the University of Applied Sciences.

The Council emphasizes a high autonomy of teaching and research at the universities. At the same time, in coordination with professional associations, it faces the challenge of further perfecting the complementary profiles of the two types of higher education institutions.

It supports high-quality and generalist orientation of the training of architects.

Furthermore, the Architectural Council set guidelines for disciplinary quality assurance through peers and peer reviews.

Mission

The Architectural Council aims to promote teaching and research in the field of architecture, in particular through

  • the creation of a national platform with international visibility,
  • positioning on basic issues of teaching and research, particularly in the context of scientific evaluations, and
  • maintaining contact with policy makers, professional organizations and the economy.

The Architectural Council is committed to the dual education system. Alone or in cooperation with other organizations, it can also take on other tasks that serve the Swiss architecture schools. By this means the Architectural Council ensures appropriate communication with European committees.

 

Research

Research in the field of architecture utilizes, to a great extent, methods from other disciplines, e.g. those of scientific or humanities research. This complicates the recognition of architecture as an autonomous discipline based on established principles and characterized by advancing knowledge and practice.

The Architectural Council notes that the differentiation of basic research and applied research, as well as their assignment to universities and universities of applied science, makes little sense. It supports the entire spectrum of research activities and cooperation between the universities.

Furthermore, the Council recognizes the «EAAE Charter on Architectural Research» as a broad foundation paper for the research issue in architecture.

Consequently, it seeks answers to the question of a specific research at the core of the discipline itself, using Methods based on «architectural design and construction» as a source of new knowledge («research through architecture» or «research through/by design»).

The Architectural Council is involved in the definition of instruments for the validation of research results in collaboration with other universities as well as national (Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI, Swiss National Foundation SNF) and international bodies.

Logo
Architekturrat der Schweiz
Conseil suisse de l'architecture
Consiglio svizzero dell'architettura
Architectural Council of Switzerland
Cussegl svizzer d'architectura
Kontakt
Geschäftsstelle
E heike.biechteler@architekturat.ch
T +41 77 411 00 59

Conseil suisse de l'architecture

Le Conseil de l’architecture a été fondé en 2008 en tant que plateforme de discussion des écoles suisses d'architecture. Il rassemble, dans une plateforme commune, toutes les Hautes écoles et les écoles spécialisées de Suisse du domaine de l'architecture et, en tant que fédération professionnelle, la société suisse des ingénieurs et des architectes (SIA). La SIA défend également les intérêts d’autres fédérations et associations.
Le Conseil de l’architecture veut harmoniser la formation des architectes en Suisse, promouvoir la recherche et, en tant que plateforme commune et sensibiliser le milieu politique à l’architecture en tant que discipline.
Les membres du Conseil de l’architecture représentent leurs écoles et sont responsables des feedbacks et des discussions nécessaires dans leur institution.
Le président et le vice-président défendent les intérêts du Conseil de l’architecture sur la base d’un agenda commun en interne, comme en externe.

 

Enseignement

Le Conseil de l’architecture se prononce en faveur du système dual de formation avec deux voies d’accès différentes et éprouvées pour devenir architecte: La première passant par le gymnase et l’université et l’autre clas-sique via l’apprentissage de dessinateur en bâtiment, la maturité professionnelle et la Haute école spécialisée.
Le Conseil de l’architecture souligne la forte autonomie de l’apprentissage et de la recherche dans les Hautes écoles. Dans le même temps, il veut relever, en accord avec les fédérations, le défi visant à améliorer les profils complémentaires des deux types d'écoles spécialisées.
Le Conseil de l’architecture soutient l'orientation généraliste et la haute qualité dans la formation des architectes.
Le Conseil de l’architecture se donne des directives pour une assurance qualité de sa discipline via des pairs et des évaluations par les pairs.

 

Mission

Le but du Conseil de l’architecture est la promotion de l'enseignement et de la re-cherche dans le domaine de l'architecture, à savoir :

  • La création d’une plateforme nationale avec une visibilité internationale

  • Le positionnement dans des questions de base de l'enseignement et de la recherche, en particulier en rapport avec des éva-luations scientifiques

  • le suivi des contacts avec la politique, les organisations professionnelles et l'économie

Le Conseil de l’architecture se prononce en faveur du système dual de formation.

Le Conseil de l’architecture peut prendre en charge, seul ou en collaboration avec d’autres organisations, des tâches plus éten-dues qui s’avèrent utiles aux écoles d’architectures suisses. Il assure une commu-nication appropriée avec les organes euro-péens.

 

Recherche

La recherche dans le domaine de l’architecture utilise largement des méthodes provenant d’autres disciplines, comme par exemple celles de la recherche scientifiques et de la recherche en sciences humaines. Cet état de fait rend plus difficile la reconnaissance de l'architecture en tant que discipline auto-nome qui repose sur les bases reconnues et qui se caractérise par des pratiques et une connaissance croissantes.
Le Conseil de l’architecture constate que la différenciation entre la recherche de base et la recherche appliquée, ainsi que leur affec-tation à des universités et des Hautes écoles spécialisées n’est pas très judicieuse. Il soutient l'étendue des activités dans la re-cherche et la collaboration entre les Hautes écoles spécialisées.
Le Conseil des architectes reconnaît le «EAAE Charter on Architectural Research» comme un document de référence ayant une large assise pour la recherche en architecture.
Le Conseil de l’architecture cherche des ré-ponses à la question d’un mode de recherche spécifique au coeur de la discipline elle-même. Et ce, avec les méthodes qui font appel au «design architectural et à la construction » en tant que source de nouvelles connais-sances («la recherche via l’architecture» ou «Research through/by Design»).
Le Conseil de l’architecture s’engage via ses membres, lors de la définition d'instruments pour la validation des résultats de la re-cherche, en collaboration avec d'autres Hautes écoles ainsi que d'autres organes na-tionaux et internationaux (commission pour la technologie et l’innovation CTI, Fonds national suisse FNS).